Want to ride your 2- or 3-wheel motorcycle on public roadways? If your motorcycle engine is more than 50 cc, you are required by Florida Statue to have a Motorcycle Endorsement on your driver’s license or have a “Motorcycle-only” license. FLMTS is here to help you in obtaining your Motorcycle Endorsement in only 2 days!
Florida Statute Requirements:
- Hold at least a regular Class-E operator’s driver license or a Student Learner Permit.
- Complete the 15-hour MSF “Basic RiderCourse” (BRCu).
- Go to a Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicle office that issues Driver Licenses, FLHSMV, bring the required personal identification documents, including your Driver License, and inform them that you need a new license with the motorcycle endorsement. Upon providing proper ID and paying the required fees, the FLSMV will issue your new Florida Driver License with a “Motorcycle Endorsement” or indicating “Motorcycle Only”.
Successful completion of the BRCu conducted by FLMTS allows you to ride 2-wheel, 3-wheel (trike) and side-car motorcycles on public roadways. No other courses are required. Just make sure you go to the FLHSMV to obtain your new Driver License with the “Motorcycle Endorsement” before enjoying your ride on public roads!
Three-wheel Motorcycle Only or Side-car Only: If you would like the Motorcycle Endorsement only for a 3-wheel (trike) motorcycle or side-car motorcycle, you must take the “3-wheel Basic RiderCourse” and your endorsement will indicate a restriction for “Three-wheel Motorcycle Only”.
NOTE the following exemptions:
The following are exempt from the Florida Driver License legal definition of “motor vehicle”, thus do not require Driver License, and you are allowed to operate on a public roadway in Florida:
- You may ride a bicycle that is propelled by a combination of human power (pedals).
- An electric helper-motor that cannot go faster than 20 mph on level ground, and you must be at least 16 years old.
NEW LAW: Effective November 1, 2009, for all “Valid in Florida Only” Driver Licenses
THE 2009 FLORIDA STATUTES
Title XXIII – Motor Vehicles
Chapter 322 – Driver License
322.03 Drivers must be licensed; penalties.–
(1) Except as otherwise authorized in this chapter, a person may not drive any motor vehicle upon a highway in this state unless such person has a valid driver license issued under this chapter.
(a) A person who drives a commercial motor vehicle may not receive a driver’s license unless and until he or she surrenders to the department all driver’s licenses in his or her possession issued to him or her by any other jurisdiction or makes an affidavit that he or she does not possess a driver’s license. Any such person who fails to surrender such licenses or who makes a false affidavit concerning such licenses commits a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.